Golconda was originally known as Mankal. The Golconda Fort was first built by the Kakatiyas as part of the Western Defense on the lines of the Kondapalli Fort. The city and the fort were built on a granite hill which is 120 meters (390 ft) high, surrounded by heavy warfare. The fort was rebuilt and strengthened by Queen Rudrama Devi and her successor Prataparudra. Later, the fort came under the control of Kamma Nayaka, who defeated the Tughlaqi army at Warangal. It was cited in 1364 by the Kamma king Musunuri Kapaya Nayaka to the Bahamas Sultanate as part of a treaty.
Under the Bahmani Sultanate, Golconda slowly rose to prominence. Sultan Quli Qutb-ul-Mulk (r. 1487–1543), sent by Bahman as a governor in Golconda, established the city around 1501 as his seat of government. The Bahmani rule gradually weakened during this period, and Sultan Quli formally became. Establishment of the Qutub Shahi dynasty located in Golconda, independent in 1538. Over a period of 62 years, the earthen fort was expanded into the present structure by the first three Qutb Shahi sultans, a massive fortress of granite extending approximately 5 km (3.1 mi) in circumference. It remained the capital of the Qutb Shahi dynasty until 1590 when the capital was shifted to Hyderabad. Qutub Shahis expanded the fort, whose 7 km (4.3 mi) outer wall surrounded the city.
After an eight-month siege in 1687, the fort fell into ruins in 1687 due to the fall at the hands of the Mughal emperor Aurangzeb.
There used to be a vault in the Golconda fort where the famous Koh-i-Noor and Hope diamonds were once stored along with other diamonds.
Golconda is famous for diamonds found to the south-east at Kollur mine near Kollur, Guntur district, Paritala and Atakur in Krishna district and was cut into the city during Kakatiya reign. At that time, India had the only known diamond mines in the world. Golconda was the market town of the diamond trade, and the gems sold there came from many mines. The fort city within the walls was famous for the diamond trade.
Its name has taken a general meaning and is associated with great wealth. Gemologists use this classification to denote a diamond with nitrogen deficiency (or almost-complete); The “Golconda” material is also referred to as “2A”.
Many famous diamonds are believed to have been dug from the Golconda mines, such as:
By the 1880s, “Golconda” was being used by English speakers for a particularly rich mine, and later for the source of any great wealth.
During the Renaissance and early modern eras, the name “Golconda” gained a famous aura and became synonymous with vast wealth. The mines brought wealth to the Qutb Shahis of the Hyderabad state, who ruled Golconda until 1687, then to the Nizam of Hyderabad, who ruled after independence from the Mughal Empire until 1924 in 1724, when Hyderabad was Indian unified.
The Golconda Fort is listed by the Archaeological Survey of India as an archaeological treasure on the official “List of Monuments” prepared under the Ancient Monuments and Archaeological Sites and Remains Act. Golconda is actually comprised of four separate forts with 87 semicircular bastions (some still mounted with cannons), eight gateways and four drawbridges along the 10 km (6.2 mi) long outer wall, including several royal apartments and halls. There are temples, mosques. Inside magazines, stables, etc. The lowest of these is the outermost enclosure, in which we enter through the “Fateh Darwaja” (Victory Gate), called by Aurangzeb’s victorious army after entering from this gate) huge iron spikes (toppling elephants down) To prevent from) studded with. Southeast corner. Featuring an engineering marvel at Golconda, an acoustic effect can be experienced at the Fateh Darwaza. A hand clap at a certain point under the dome at the entrance and ‘Bala Hisar’ can be heard clearly in the pavilion, the highest point about a kilometer away. This served as a warning note to the Royals in the case of the attack.
The entire Golconda fort complex and its surrounding area is spread over 11 km (6.8 mi) of the total area and the discovery of every nook of it is a difficult task. A visit to the fort reveals the architectural beauty in many pavilions, gates, entrances and domes. Divided into four district forts, architectural valor still shines in each apartment, hall, temple, mosque and even stables. The beautiful gardens of the fort may lose their fragrance, for which they were known 400 years ago, yet a walk in these former gardens should be in your schedule while exploring the back alleys of Golconda Fort.
Bala Hisar Gate is the main entrance to the fort on the eastern side. It has a pointed arch that is bordered by rows of scroll work. Spandrels have yellis and adorned roundels. The area above the door has peacocks with ornate tails with ornate tails. The granite block lintel below is a disk flanking yalis. The design of peacocks and lions is typical of Hindu architecture and underlines the Hindu origins of this fort.
The Toli Mosque, located in a caravan, about 2 km (1.2 mi) from Golconda Fort, was built in 1671 by Mir Musa Khan Mahaldar, the royal architect of Abdullah Qutb Shah. The facade consists of five arches, each containing lotus medals. The central arch is slightly wider and more ornate. The inner mosque is divided into two halls, a transverse outer hall and an inner hall entered through triple arches.
Thought a lot to build this gate. A few feet in front of the gate is a large wall. This prevented elephants and soldiers (during enemy attacks) from having a proper ramp to drive and break the gate.
The fort of Golconda is known for its magical acoustic system. The highest point of the fort is “Bala Hisar”, which is located one kilometer away. The palaces, factories, water supply systems and the famous “Rahban” cannon within the fort are some of the major attractions.
It is believed that there is a secret tunnel that originates from the “Durbar Hall” and ends in one of the palaces on one of the hills. The fort also has tombs of Qutub Shahi kings. These tombs have Islamic architecture and are located approximately 1 km (0.62 mi) north of the outer wall of Golconda. They are surrounded by beautiful gardens and many exquisitely carved stones. It is also believed that there was a secret tunnel to Charminar.
Two separate pavilions on the exterior of Golconda are also major attractions of the fort. It is made at a point that is quite rocky. The “Kala Mandir” is also located in the fort. This can be seen from the king’s court (king’s court), which was on top of the Golconda fort.
Other buildings found inside the fort are:
Habshi Commons (Abyssian Arches), Ashlah Khana, Taramati Mosque, Ramdas Bandikhana, Camel Stationary, Private Room (KW), Morgue Bath, Nagina Bagh, Ramsa Ka Kotha, Durbar Hall, Ambar Khan etc.
This majestic structure has a beautiful palace and a simple water supply system. Sadly, the unique architecture of the fort is now losing its charm.
The ventilation of the fort is absolutely magnificent with exotic designs. They were so intricately designed that cold air could reach the interiors of the fort, relieving the heat of summer.
The huge gates of the fort are decorated with large iron-pointed stones. These spiders prevented elephants from damaging the fort. The Golconda fort is surrounded by an 11 km (6.8 mi) outer wall. It was built to strengthen the fort.
Golconda ruling dynasty
Many dynasties ruled Golconda for years.
Qutb Shahi Dynasty
The Naya Fort is an extension of the Golconda Fort, which was converted into a Hyderabad Golf Club despite resistance from farmers owned by the land within the city and various NGOs. The ramparts of the new fort begin after the residential area with a number of towers and a hutian tree with an “elephant-shaped tree” – an ancient baobab tree with a huge goth. It also includes a war mosque. These sites are restricted to the public because of the golf course.
Qutub Shahi Tomb
The tombs of the Qutb Shahi Sultans lie about a kilometer north of the outer wall of Golconda. These structures are made of beautifully carved stone, and are surrounded by gardens. They are open to the public and receive many visitors.
It is one of the famous places in Hyderabad.
UNESCO World Heritage
The Golconda Fort, and other Qutub Shahi dynasty monuments in Hyderabad (Charminar, and Qutub Shahi Mausoleum) were presented to UNESCO in 2010 by India’s Permanent Delegation to World Heritage Sites. They are currently included in India’s “provisional list”.
In popular culture
Russell Conwell’s book Acres of Diamonds tells the story of the discovery of the Golconda mines.
René Magrett’s painting Golconda was named after the city.
John Keats’s early poem “On acquiring a curious shell” opens with the lines: “A gem / pure as a drop of ice settling on a mountain, soon before the caves of Golconda?”
Classical Russian Ballet, referenced in La Beadère
See “Sea of Flames” as a diamond spot in the context of Anthony Dore’s Pulitzer-Award winning novel All Light We Not Golconda Mines
Places named after Golconda
A city in Illinois, USA, is named after Golconda.
A city in Nevada, United States, is named after Golconda.
A village located in the southern part of Trinidad in the 19th century named a rich land that was once a sugarcane estate. Presently, descendants of most of the East Indian indentured servants occupy the village of Golkonda.